Location & Area

Ajmer district is located at 26° 27’ N and 74° 44’ E and is surrounded by the Aravali Hills. Situated in the center of the state of Rajasthan on the lower slopes of Taragarh hill, the district is spread across an area of 8481 sq km. Nagpathar range of mountains separates Ajmer from the Thar desert.

Ajmer is the divisional headquarters of Rajasthan and includes three other districts namely Bhilwara, Nagaur and Tonk. To the north, its boundaries touch Nagaur; Tonk and Jaipur districts lie on the eastern side; Pali is located on its western boundaries, while Rajsamand is situated on the south.

Within the district, there are 12 subdivisions which are further subdivided into 16 Tehsils. There are nine Panchayat Samities in the district as well.